Launching applications

To launch an application, click the icon.

If the application requires you to enter your user name and password to sign in, the Practice Protect Platform prompts you to enter the user name and password the first time you open the application and stores your credentials. These credentials may differ from the user name and password you use to log in to the user portal. The next time you sign in to the application—either from the Practice Protect user portal or a device—the identity platform automatically authenticates you.

Applications can have any of the following symbols to indicate restrictions or statuses:

Key: Indicates that the application is tagged as a gateway application but you are not logged in from inside your corporate firewall.

Blocked: Indicates that you cannot open the application.

Your IT administrator configures applications to control when you can access them. For example, an application can be configured so that you can open it after you log in to the user portal from your office computer. However, the same application can be blocked when you log in to the user portal from outside the office.

Jigsaw puzzle piece: Indicates that the application requires you to install an extension (Centrify Browser Extension) in your browser to log in the provides single sign-on to applications.

You only need to install the browser extension one time for access to other applications with this same requirement. See Installing the browser extension for the details. After you install the extension, the symbol is removed from all of the applications.

You install the extension separately on each computer. For example, if you use Firefox from a desktop computer and Firefox on a laptop, you need to install the extension in each browser.

You do not need to install the browser extension on your device’s browser.

Shared: Indicates that you do not need to enter any log in credentials to access the application. Your system administrator has configured for all users to use the same log in credentials, so the identity platform automatically logs you in using those credentials.

New: Indicates that this application has been newly deployed by your system administrator. After you launch the application or access Application Settings, the “new” designation is automatically removed.

Updated on April 18, 2018

Related Articles