1. Home
  2. Secured Items
  3. Sharing Non-Web Passwords & Secure Notes

Sharing Non-Web Passwords & Secure Notes

Purpose

This guide explains how to securely share non-web passwords and notes with team members within your organization.

Instructions

  1. Sign in to Practice Protect. You will be automatically directed to Access Space, where you can launch your available cloud apps or view secured items.
  2. Create a new Secured Note or Secured Password, or select an existing secured item. You can filter the list by selecting Notes or Passwords.

  3. The selected item will open on the right-hand side. Select the Sharing tab..

  4. Click Share + to open the member selection window.

    Note: If the sharing option is unavailable, contact your administrator to enable the required permissions. For more information, see Delegating Shared Credentials Permission.

  5. Search for the user you want to share the item with. Select the checkbox displayed next to their name, then click Add. You can also select an existing group that is actively used in Practice Protect.
  6. Select the required permission to define the level of access granted to the selected user or group.

    • View: Allows the user to view the shared Secured Password or Secured Note without modifying it.
    • Edit: Allows the user to view and modify the shared Secured Password or Secured Note.
    • Owner: Grants the user ownership of the shared item, including broader control over the item and its sharing permissions.

  7. (Optional) Set a start date and end date to specify when the sharing access becomes active and expires.
  8. Click Save to apply the sharing settings.
  9. Items should appear for the user you just shared with. If not, try refreshing the page or signing out and back in.

  10. (Optional) You can share the item with additional users by clicking + Add or + Share, then selecting the users you want to grant access to.

Note: Secured Items & Passwords are stored in the account they are created in. In the event the user account hosting the items is deleted all items are deleted, even if items are shared with other accounts.

 

Updated on October 26, 2026

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support